Marquette Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Lake Effect Snow Advisory
Statement as of 3:48 PM EDT on October 30, 2014

...Lake effect Snow Advisory remains in effect from 8 PM this evening to 2 PM EDT Friday...

Hazardous weather...

* lake effect snow will begin to accumulate this evening...and continue moderate to heavy at times tonight...before tapering to flurries Friday afternoon.

* Expect total snow accumulation of 3 to 7 inches tonight through Friday morning. Look for the greatest accumulation over higher terrain from Herman through Negaunee to Gwinn and Skandia. Expect the least accumulation along the Lake Superior shoreline.

Impacts...

* the wet heavy snow will result in slippery conditions on area roadways tonight into early Friday.

* North winds gusting over 30 mph at times will also produce some blowing of snow and reduced visibility.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

* a lake effect Snow Advisory Means Lake effect snow is forecast that will make travel difficult in some areas.

* Prepare...plan...and stay informed. Visit www.Weather.Gov/MQT

Lakeshore Flood Advisory
Statement as of 4:17 PM CDT on October 30, 2014

...Lakeshore Flood Advisory remains in effect from 2 am EDT /1 am CDT/ to 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/ Friday...

* winds...north winds will increase rapidly tonight and gust to 45 mph after midnight along the Lake Superior shoreline. The highest wind gusts will last from midnight through mid Friday morning before the wind diminishes in the afternoon.

* Waves...expect waves to build up to 15 feet late tonight and stay above 13 feet along the Lake Superior shoreline through Friday morning.

* Impacts...with waves that high...low lying areas will flood along the Lake Superior shoreline...especially along Lakeshore Boulevard in Marquette.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A Lakeshore Flood Advisory indicates that onshore winds will generate flooding of low areas along the Lakeshore.