2014 Atlantic Hurricane Season Birdseye Discussion #124

By: NCHurricane2009, 5:05 PM GMT on October 25, 2014

...SATURDAY OCTOBER 25 1:05 PM EDT...
While moving eastward into the northwest Caribbean...the remnant low of tropical depression nine has become overspread by the tail end of the surface front associated with the 992 mb frontal cyclone on the coast of Atlantic Canada. Meanwhile upper trough associated with the 998 mb frontal cyclone over eastern Canada is passing north of this system while the western upper convergence of the upper trough produces dry sinking ...

2014 Atlantic Hurricane Season Birdseye Discussion #123

By: NCHurricane2009, 7:21 AM GMT on October 24, 2014

...FRIDAY OCTOBER 24 2014 3:21 AM EDT...
The remnant low of tropical depression nine has become a little better organized over Mexico's Yucatan peninsula and Belize under less vertical shear as the upper trough associated with the 995 mb frontal cyclone offshore of the northeastern US moves away. The next upper trough...associated with the 1002 mb frontal cyclone in south-central Canada...will drag the remnant low of the tropical depression into the northwester...

2014 Atlantic Hurricane Season Birdseye Discussion #122

By: NCHurricane2009, 7:04 AM GMT on October 23, 2014

...THURSDAY OCTOBER 23 2014 3:04 AM EDT...
Satellite data on www.nhc.noaa.gov/satellite.php has stopped updating since the evening of October 21. Because this is the source for the background images used in the atmospheric and thermodynamics charts below...this outage has affected those charts. For now I have reverted to the "winds and analyses" products under "Regional Real-Time Products" at the bottom of the CIMSS website (http://tropic.ssec.wisc.edu/) as the...

Updated: 7:07 AM GMT on October 23, 2014

2014 Atlantic Hurricane Season Birdseye Discussion #121

By: NCHurricane2009, 4:45 AM GMT on October 22, 2014

...WEDNESDAY OCTOBER 22 2014 12:50 AM EDT...
Satellite data on www.nhc.noaa.gov/satellite.php has stopped updating since last night. Because this is the source for the background images used in the atmospheric and thermodynamics charts below...this outage has affected those charts. For now I have reverted to the "winds and analyses" products under "Regional Real-Time Products" at the bottom of the CIMSS website (http://tropic.ssec.wisc.edu/) as the source for t...

2014 Atlantic Hurricane Season Birdseye Discussion #120

By: NCHurricane2009, 2:27 AM GMT on October 21, 2014

...MONDAY OCTOBER 20 2014 10:27 PM EDT...
The broad area of surface low pressure across the southwestern Gulf of Mexico has become better organized such that it has been upgraded to Invest 93-L on the Naval Research Laboratory site of the US Navy and such that it has been given a high chance of tropical cyclone formation on the National Hurricane Center's latest tropical weather outlook. I have also upgraded this system to a special feature on this blog. See se...

« View Older Entries

About NCHurricane2009

NCHurricane2009 doesn't have a bio yet.