Casual Astronomy, Spaceflight News and Lower California Weather

Crescent Moon leaving Jupiter & Venus in the SW after Sunset

By: LowerCal, 7:45 PM GMT on October 28, 2008

Today - SpaceWeather.com
This Week - SkyandTelescope.com - This Week's Sky at a Glance
This Month - SkyandTelescope.com - Sky Tour Podcasts

Visible Satellites:
Simplest - Satellite Flybys by SpaceweatherPhone.com
More satellites and more info - Heavens-Above.com

Launches - Spaceflight Now - Worldwide Launch Schedule
Reentries - Center for Orbital and Reentry Debris Studies - Upcoming & Recent Reentries

All events described below can be viewed with your naked eye. Occasionally simple binoculars will improve the view and that will be noted. Scroll down for future dates, farther down for past dates.

Venus, Jupiter and Crescent Moon Converge
November 29 - December 1
The bright planets Venus and Jupiter will be at their closest above the SW horizon after sunset November 30 and December 1. From much of Europe the Moon will actually pass in front of and hide Venus on the evening of December 1!

A picture of the line up November 29 - December 1
from SkyandTelescope.com - This Week's Sky at a Glance.

Astronomy.com - Sky-event alert: Venus joins Jupiter after sunset

SkyandTelescope.com - Observing Highlights - The "Venus & Jupiter" Show

SkyandTelescope.com - Press Releases - Dazzling Planet Duo Beckons in Evening Twilight


Outline of Sky Events for the Year
2008
SkyandTelescope.com - Observing Highlights - Sky Highlights of 2008

SkyandTelescope.com - Meteors - Meteor Showers in 2008

The question, "How could I make a valuable contribution to the science of astronomy as a simple naked eye observer?" is answered in
SkyandTelescope.com - Stargazing - The Scientific Value of Visual Observing
which may lead you to the following, in order:
SkyandTelescope.com - Meteors - Meteors: A Primer,
SkyandTelescope.com - Meteors - Basics of Meteor Observing and
SkyandTelescope.com - Meteors - Advanced Meteor Observing.


***** Past Dates *****

Dark Moon (a.k.a. astronomical new moon)

October 28
Exact at
2324 UT/GMT
7:24pm EDT
4:24pm PDT.

Lower and thinner morning crescent moons the week before. Higher and thicker evening crescent moons the week after. Has a stronger effect on tides producing higher highs, lower lows and faster flows.


) Thinnest Evening Crescent Moon (the original meaning of "new moon")

WunderPhoto: One day old Moon by LaddObservatory Friday June 15, 2007
October 29 or 30
Low in the western sky soon after sunset.
Moonsighting.com


Halloween Photo Op
October 31
The Evening Star (planet Venus) and above a thin crescent moon.
Image of the SW sky after sunset from SkyandTelescope.com - This Week's Sky at a Glance.


Change from Daylight Saving Time
November 2
In most areas of the United States 2:00am Daylight Time becomes 1:00am Standard Time. You can set your clocks back one hour before you go to bed on Saturday, November 1.

Daylight Time - United States Naval Observatory

Daylight saving time around the world - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


More Photo Ops
October 31 - November 3
Crescent moon with planets Venus and Jupiter in the SW evening sky.
Image of the SW sky after sunset from SkyandTelescope.com - This Week's Sky at a Glance.


Great Worldwide Star Star Count
October 20 - November 3
Great World Wide Star Count has everything you need to make and add your own starcount.

Great World Wide Star Count: Light Pollution To Be Mapped by Thousands of Citizen Scientists Around the World This Month

BOULDER—Schoolchildren, families, and citizen scientists around the world will gaze skyward after dark from October 20 to November 3, looking for specific constellations and then sharing their observations through the Internet. The Great World Wide Star Count, now in its second year, helps scientists map light pollution globally while educating participants about the stars. ....

Minuteman Launch from Vandenberg AFB
November 5
Space Archive - The Southwest's Source for Regional Space Information
The next Vandenberg AFB missile launch is a Minuteman III early on the morning of November 5. The vehicle is scheduled to lift-off during a 00:01-06:01 PST launch window and send an unarmed warhead on a ballistic trajectory to the central Pacific. ....

◐ First Quarter Moon

Exact at
November 6
0403 UT/GMT
November 5
11:03pm EST
8:03pm PST.

Rises near noon and sets near midnight. Has a weaker effect on tides producing lower highs, higher lows and slower flows.

Evening crescent moons for a week before. Each one thicker and higher above the horizon.


○ Full Moon

WunderPhoto: Looks Fake by RadioDJgirl Tuesday October 14, 2008
Exact at
November 13
0617 UT/GMT
01:17am EST
November 12
10:17pm PST.

Rises near sunset and sets near sunrise. Has a stronger effect on tides producing higher highs, lower lows and faster flows.


◑ Last Quarter Moon

November 19
Exact at
2131 UT/GMT
4:31pm EST
1:31pm PST.

Rises near midnight and sets near noon. Has a weaker effect on tides producing lower highs, higher lows and slower flows.

Morning crescent moons for a week after. Each one thinner and closer to the horizon.


Dark Moon (a.k.a. astronomical new moon)

November 27
Exact at
1655 UT/GMT
11:55am EST
8:55am PST.

Lower and thinner morning crescent moons the week before. Higher and thicker evening crescent moons the week after. Has a stronger effect on tides producing higher highs, lower lows and faster flows.


Launch of Shuttle Endeavour

Photo credit: NASA
Mission: STS-126
Spacecraft & Launch Vehicle: Space Shuttle Endeavour
Launch from Kennedy Space Center, Florida
November 15
0055 GMT
November 14
7:55pm EST (local time)
4:55pm PST.

Docking with ISS
November 16
2156 GMT
4:56pm EST (local time)
1:56pm PST.

Undocking from ISS
November 27
1532 GMT
10:32am EST (local time)
7:32am PST.

November 28
1447 GMT
9:47am EST (local time)
6:47am PST.

Landing at Kennedy Space Center, Florida
November 29
1918 GMT
2:18pm EST
11:18am PST.
1901 GMT
2:01pm EST
11:01am PST.

November 30
1818 GMT
1:18pm EST
10:18am PST.
(Find later landing options at NASA - Launch and Landing
and the landing paths at NASA - STS-126 Landing Ground Tracks.)

Launch status updates at
Spaceflight Now | Tracking Station | Worldwide launch schedule.

You can follow the progress of the Space Shuttle mission online at
Spaceflight Now | STS-126 Shuttle Report | Mission Status Center and
NASA - Space Shuttle.
There are links in the "WATCH NASA TV NOW" section of the NASA page where you can watch video (sometimes live).

You can dig for more info at
Spaceflight Now - Index of /shuttle/sts126 and
CBS News Space Place - STS-126 Status Report.

Live online coverage of the launch on NASA TV starts one hour or more before launch -
NASA TV Schedule. It will start at 2:30pm EST for this launch.




Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!

Updated: 8:34 PM GMT on December 02, 2008

Permalink

About LowerCal

Astronomy with a minimum of terminology and technology.

LowerCal's Recent Photos

Personal Weather Stations

APRSWXNET Woodland Hills CA US
Calabasas, CA
Elevation: 984 ft
Temperature: 51.0 °F
Dew Point: 34.0 °F
Humidity: 53%
Wind: Calm
Wind Gust: 2.0 mph
Updated: 5:33 AM PST on December 01, 2013
At Gonzales Drive
Woodland Hills, CA
Elevation: 984 ft
Temperature: 75.4 °F
Dew Point: 52.6 °F
Humidity: 45%
Wind: Calm
Wind Gust: 6.0 mph
Updated: 8:24 PM PDT on July 22, 2014

About Personal Weather Stations