Alger Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Lake Effect Snow Advisory
Statement as of 4:23 AM EDT on October 31, 2014

...Lake effect Snow Advisory remains in effect until 2 PM EDT this afternoon...

Hazardous weather...

* expect light to moderate lake effect snow to taper to flurries this afternoon.

* Expect total snow accumulations of 1 to 4 inches by early afternoon. Look for the greatest accumulation from Chatham to Eben Junction...with lesser accumulation along the Lake Superior shoreline and east of Munising.

Impacts...

* the wet snow will result in slippery conditions on area roadways this morning.

* North winds gusting over 30 mph will also produce blowing snow and reduced visibility at times.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

* a lake effect Snow Advisory Means Lake effect snow is forecast that will make travel difficult in some areas.

* Prepare...plan...and stay informed. Visit www.Weather.Gov/MQT

Lakeshore Flood Advisory
Statement as of 9:07 PM CDT on October 30, 2014

...Lakeshore Flood Advisory remains in effect from 2 am EDT /1 am CDT/ to 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/ Friday...

* winds...rapidly increasing north winds will gust to around 45 mph overnight along the Lake Superior shoreline. The highest wind gusts will last through mid morning Friday...before diminishing in the afternoon.

* Waves...expect waves to build up to 15 feet overnight...and stay above 13 feet along the Lake Superior shoreline through Friday morning.

* Impacts...with waves that high...low lying areas will flood along the Lake Superior shoreline...especially along Lakeshore Boulevard in Marquette.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A Lakeshore Flood Advisory indicates that onshore winds will generate flooding of low areas along the Lakeshore.