Oldham Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Heat Advisory
Statement as of 3:02 PM CDT on August 21, 2014

...Heat advisory in effect from 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/ Friday to 7 PM EDT /6 PM CDT/ Monday...

The National Weather Service in Louisville has issued a heat advisory...which is in effect from 2 PM EDT /1 PM CDT/ Friday to 7 PM EDT /6 PM CDT/ Monday.

* Heat index values...afternoon heat index values will peak in the 101-106 degree range each day Friday through Monday.

* Timing...the hottest time of day will be from 2 PM to 7pm EDT...1pm to 6 PM CDT.

* Impacts...the combination of heat and humidity will create dangerous outdoor weather conditions...especially with prolonged exposure and for those who are sensitive to the heat.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

Take extra precautions if you work or spend time outside. When possible, reschedule strenuous activities to early morning or evening. Know the signs and symptoms of heat exhaustion and heat stroke. Wear light weight and loose fitting clothing when possible and drink plenty of water.

To reduce risk during outdoor work the occupational safety and health administration recommends scheduling frequent rest breaks in shaded or air conditioned environments. Anyone overcome by heat should be moved to a cool and shaded location. Heat stroke is an emergency - call 9 1 1.

13/eer

Local Storm Report

08/20/2014 0410 PM

3 miles WSW of Sligo, Oldham County.

Hail m1.00 inch, reported by broadcast media.

08/20/2014 0410 PM

La Grange, Oldham County.

Hail m1.00 inch, reported by broadcast media.

Local Radar

Click to Enlarge

Nearby Radar Stations