Cook Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Winter Storm Warning
Statement as of 3:32 PM EST on January 31, 2015

...Winter Storm Warning now in effect from 9 PM CST /10 PM EST/ this evening to 6 am CST /7 am EST/ Monday...

* timing...accumulating snow will begin this evening and continue through Sunday night. Precipitation will likely start as rain or a rain snow mix...especially the farther south you go from Interstate 80.

* Snow accumulations...widespread amounts of 10 to 14 inches are expected by Sunday night...especially near Lake Michigan.

* Main impact...snow covered roads will make travel difficult. Significant disruptions to air travel are also likely.

* Other impacts...strong northeast winds with gusts possibly in excess of 35 mph will develop Sunday afternoon and continue into Sunday evening...and are likely to be higher near the lake. This will produce significant blowing and drifting snow and blizzard like conditions.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A Winter Storm Warning for heavy snow means severe winter weather conditions are expected or occurring. Significant amounts of snow are forecast that will make travel dangerous. Only travel in an emergency. If you must travel...keep an extra flashlight... food...and water in your vehicle in case of an emergency.

Local Radar

Click to Enlarge

Nearby Radar Stations

Cities Affected