Inland Dixie Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Heat Advisory
Statement as of 4:05 AM CDT on August 21, 2014

...Heat advisory remains in effect from noon EDT /11 am CDT/ today to 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ Saturday...

* high temperatures: upper 90s to around 100.

* Maximum heat index: over 105 degrees in most locations...and 108 to 111 degrees in some spots.

* Timing: within 20 miles of the coast...heat index will be highest from mid morning to early afternoon. Elsewhere... hottest conditions will be in the afternoon.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A heat advisory means that a period of heat indices between 108 and 112 degrees is expected. The combination of hot temperatures and high humidity will combine to create a situation in which heat illnesses are possible. Drink plenty of fluids... stay in an air-conditioned room...stay out of the sun...and check up on relatives and neighbors.

Camp

Local Radar

Click to Enlarge

Nearby Radar Stations